Thursday 26 November, 2020

Whitmore calls up two new UK-based players for Nations League

Coach Theodore Whitmore has named two uncapped players in Jamaica's Reggae Boyz squad for the upcoming Concacaf Nations League Group games against Antigua & Barbuda and Guyana.

The Reggae Boyz will host Antigua & Barbuda on September 6 and then visit Guyana on September 9.

The newcomers in Whitmore's 23-man squad are Daniel Johnson and Bobby Reid.

Johnson was born in St Andrew, Jamaica and migrated to the UK as a child. He started playing at the Aston Villa Academy where he impressed as a youth player and later went on to join their first team in the BPL. He played for a number of clubs in the Championship before settling with Preston North End in 2015. He is rated as one of the best number 11 in the Championship.

Reid, a Jamaican by descent, grew up in Easton, an inner-city section of Bristol (known for its strong Caribbean/Jamaican culture). Always visiting Jamaica with his parents, he always felt the love and acceptance of Jamaicans and it was not a hard decision for him to accept the invitation.

During his time at Bristol Reid played for a number of teams on loan before being transferred to Cardiff City.  He made his BPL debut in the 2017-2018 season.

The squad which pulls together players currently plying their trade in eight countries across the globe including Jamaica will assemble in Montego Bay on September 2 for a three-day training camp, beginning on September 3.

Adrian Mariappa who was part of Jamaica's last World Cup campaign, as well as the squad reaching the 2015 Concacaf Gold Cup final, also rejoins the squad.

The majority of the other players were part of the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup squad, which reached the semi-finals.

1. Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)
2. Amal Knight (UWI FC)
3. Fabion McCarthy (UWI FC)
4. Jeadine White (Humble Lion FC)
5. Damion Lowe (IK Start)
6. Adrian Mariappa (Watford FC)
7. Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls)
8. Shaun Francis (Louisville City FC)
9. Devon Williams (Louisville City FC)
10. Alvas Powell (FC Cincinnati)
11. Daniel Johnson (Preston North End FC)
12. Andre Lewis (Portmore United FC)
13. JeVaughn Watson (OKC Energy FC)
14. Leon Bailey (Bayer Leverkusen)
15. Alex Marshall  (Cavalier FC)
16. Bobby Reid (Fulham FC)
17. Junior Flemmings (Phoenix Rising FC)
18. Brian Brown (Partizani Tirana)
19. Dever Orgill (MKE Ankaragucu)
20. Corey Burke (Philadelphia Union)
21. Shamar Nicholson (R. Charleroi S.C.)
22. Peter Vassell (Los Angeles FC)
23. Kevaughn Isaacs (Mount Pleasant FC) 

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: