Tuesday 27 October, 2020

UPDATE: Phillips names 20-member interim shadow cabinet

EDITOR'S NOTE: A previous version of this story listed 19 members of the shadow cabinet as initially advised by the People's National Party. The PNP subsequently sent an updated list with 20 members.

People’s National Party (PNP) President and Leader of the Opposition Dr Peter Phillips has named a 20-member interim shadow cabinet.

In a news release, the PNP said the interim shadow cabinet will "facilitate the effective functioning of the Opposition in Parliament until the party elects a new leader", Phillips having announced his intention to step down as president of the PNP following its landslide defeat to the Jamaica Labour Party in the September 3 polls.

The party indicated that members who were unsuccessful in the election were disqualified from selection to the shadow cabinet, while all qualified members of the previous shadow cabinet have been asked to maintain their existing portfolio oversight responsibilities.

Those responsibilities that were exercised previously by members who were unsuccessful in the election have been reassigned to newly elected members in the House and the Senate, the party said.

See full list of the interim shadow cabinet below.

Leader of the Opposition: Planning and Development, and Defence - Dr Peter Phillips

Finance and the Public Service - Mark Golding, MP; Senator Lambert Brown (Public Service)

National Security - Fitz Jackson, MP

Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade - Lisa Hanna, MP

Justice and Leader of the Opposition Business in the Senate - Senator Donna Scott-Mottley

Education and Training - Dr Angela Brown-Burke

Community Development & Culture - Senator Damion Crawford

Health & Wellness - Dr Morias Guy, MP

Industry, Competitiveness and Global Logistics - Anthony Hylton, MP

Tourism - Senator Janice Allen

Transport and Works - Mikael Phillips, MP

Labour, Social Security and Special Abilities - Senator Dr Floyd Morris

Mining and Energy and Leader of Opposition Business in House of Representatives - Phillip Paulwell, MP

Science, Technology and Information - Julian Robinson, MP

Land and Housing - Senator Sophia Fraser Binns

Agriculture and Rural Development - Lothian Cousins, MP

Local Government - Natalie Neita, MP

Youth, Gender Affairs, Entertainment and Sports - Denise Daley, MP

Water, Environment and Climate Change - Senator Norman Horne


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: