Saturday 4 July, 2020

Elaine Thompson finishes second to Miller-Uibo in Monaco

Jamaica's double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson.

Jamaica's double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson.

Jamaica's double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson had to settle for second place in the women's 200m at the ninth meeting of the 2019 IAAF Diamond League in Monaco on Friday.

Shaunae Miller-Uibo of the Bahamas, her silvered locks newly dyed to pink, produced a mighty performance to win the race, coming home in a season’s best of 22.09.

Thompson, the Rio 2016 100 and 200m champion, clocked 22.44 for her second place, with two-time world 200m champion Dafne Schippers of The Netherlands third in 22.45.

Earlier,  Danielle Williams of Jamaica, the 2015 world champion, finished second in the women's 100m hurdles.

World 100m hurdles record-holder Kendra Harrison of the United States looked ominously sharp as she overhauled leader Williams over the final two sets of hurdles and powered through the line in a season’s best of 12.43.

Williams clocked 12.52 for her second-place also a season’s best, with third place going to Christina Clemons of the United States, who clocked 12.62. University of Arkansas student Janeek Brown, the Jamaican record holder, finished fourth in 12.71 seconds.

Jamaica’s Natoya Goule clocked a season's best 1:57.90 for second in the women's 800m. Ajee Wilson of the United States was a decisive winner of the race, assuming the lead as the pacemaker, who had led the field through 400m in 56.12, peeled away going into the back straight for the second time.

The world bronze medallist was challenged by Goule, but held her narrow lead all the way down the finishing straight before crossing in a season’s best of 1:57.73. Third place went to Britain’s European 1500m champion Laura Muir (personal best 1:58.42), who never quite managed to get in contact with the leading pair.

The Jamaican pair of Janieve Russell (54.70) and Clayton Rushell (54.82) finished fourth and fifth in the women's 400m hurdles. The race was won by American Sydney McLaughlin in 53.32.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: