Tuesday 7 July, 2020

DACOSTA CUP: Rusea's among 4 teams aiming to defend perfect record

Six top-of-the-table clashes and four teams looking to maintain their perfect records will highlight Match Day 16 of the 2018 ISSA/Wata daCosta Cup football competition on Saturday.

The day features 28 return leg matches, all starting at 3:30 pm.

The top-of-the-table clashes will be in Zones C, E, G, H, L, M while defending champions Rusea’s High, Cornwall College, Clarendon College and Garvey Maceo High will be out to protect their winning records.

In Zone C, Herbert Morrison High will host Cedric Titus High, which enter the day with a three-point lead.

When both met in the first leg, Cedric Titus secured a 1-0 victory which was the first of two back-to-back losses for Herbert Morrison, which have since won four straight matches.

In Zone E, leaders St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) and second-place Maggotty High will face off at the STETHS Sports Complex in Santa Cruz. STETHS are on 16 points with Maggotty on 11 and third-placed Lacovia on seven.

STETHS can qualify for the second round if they beat Maggotty High and Lacovia draw or lose to Newell at Treasure Beach Sports Complex.

STETHS beat Maggotty High 1-0 when both met in September 15 at the Appleton Sports Estate and it should be interesting between the two teams again.

Over in Zone G, Holmwood Technical are leading Spalding High and Knox College by goal difference with all teams locked on 10 points. Five of the six teams in the group still have a chance to qualify for the second round.

Holmwood Technical High will visit Spalding High in the top-of-the-table fixture and an interesting game looms after both battled to a 1-1 on September 8.

In Zone H, Clarendon College, which are one of the four teams playing on Saturday looking to protect perfect records, will journey to Lennon High for a top-of-the-table fixture.

Clarendon College, seven time winners of the competition, are leading the group by goal difference and are heavily favoured to win following their 5-1 victory at home when both teams met on September 22.

 A victory for Clarendon College can secure their spot in the next round if third-place Edwin Allen High and fourth-place Thompson Town draw. Both Edwin Allen High and Thompson Town are on six points.

In Zone L, leaders Port Antonio High on 16 points will travel to second-place Titchfield High, which are on 10. Port Antonio will advance with a victory if third-place Fair Prospect, which are on nine points, lose to Happy Grove High.

In Zone M, leaders Garvey Maceo, the 2007 champions, on 18 points will be looking to protect their perfect record when they host three-time champion Glenmuir High (13 points) in the top-of-the-table fixture. 

When both met earlier in the month, Garvey Maceo secured a 1-0 margin victory.

Meanwhile, the other two teams with perfect records, 12-time champions Cornwall College and Rusea’s High, winners of the competition on 10 times, will face Irwin High and Cambridge High respectively.  

Cornwall College could only beat the visiting Irwin High 1-0 when both met on September 10. However, that was Cornwall College first game of the season and they have improved since, while Irwin High failed to gain another point and are at the bottom of the standing.

Rusea's High won 3-1 at Cambridge High when both teams met on September 13 and now playing at home the 'Russians' are expected to be stronger.

SATURDAY’S SCHEDULE (All matches start at 3:30 pm)

Anchovy vs St James
Irwin vs Cornwall College at Fairfield

Frome vs Hopewell at Frome Sports Complex
Rusea’s vs Cambridge at Colin Miller Sports Complex

Herbert Morrison vs Cedric Titus
Muschett vs William Knibb

Petersfield vs Belmont Academy
Mannings vs Little London

St Elizabeth Technical vs Maggotty at STETHS Sports Complex
Sydney Pagon vs Munro
Newell vs Lacovia at Treasure Beach Sports Complex

Manchester vs Mile Gully
BB Coke vs Belair
May Day vs DeCarteret 

Troy vs Alston
Spalding vs Holmwood
Christina vs Knox

Lennon vs Clarendon College
Thompson Town vs Edwin Allen

Ocho Rios vs Iona at Drax Hall
Oracabessa vs Marcus Garvey at Marcus Garvey
York Castle vs Browns Town

Guys Hill vs Brimmervale
Carron Hall vs St Mary High at Highgate Community Centre

Tacius Golding vs Dinthill at Bodles
Charlemont vs Ewarton
Enid Bennett vs McGrath

Titchfield vs Port Antonio at Lynch Park
Fair Prospect vs Happy Grove
Horace Clarke vs Annotto Bay

Garvey Maceo vs Glenmuir
Winston Jones vs Denbigh
Bellefield vs Cross Keys

Central vs Vere at Effortville Community Centre
Porus vs Old Harbour at Porus Community Centre

Robert Lightbourne vs Seaforth 
Morant Bay vs Yallahs
St Thomas Technical vs Paul Bogle

For the latest news, download our app at http://bit.ly/GetALoopJM for Android; and at http://bit.ly/GetiLoopJM for IoS.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: