Saturday 24 August, 2019

Whitmore calls up local-based squad for friendly game against Antigua

National senior men's football team head coach, Theodore Whitmore had called up three newcomers in a 21-member training camp for local-based players in preparation for the upcoming  international friendly against Antigua and Barbuda

The match will take place at the National Stadium on Sunday, March 25, beginning at 5:00 pm.

The newcomers included in the training squad are Dennis Taylor, who last played at the National Under 20 level in 2009;  Casseam Priestly, who played at the National Under 17 level in 2017 and Ricardo Thomas from Red Stripe Premier League club Waterhouse FC.

The squad was announced just ahead of the Official Draw for the CONCACAF Nations League in Miami on Wednesday, which will allow for a minimum of four international games between September 2018 to March 2019.

The training camp will be held from March 13-15.

Invited overseas-based players are expected to arrive on March 19 to take part in a second camp.

The game against Antigua and Barbuda will begin the preparation phase for the inaugural CONCACAF League of Nations tournament.

The game is expected to be the first of several matches scheduled against Caribbean teams leading up to the start of the CONCACAF League of Nations in September.

Jamaica Football Federation President, Michael Ricketts said the Antigua match was arranged after another game against an unnamed opponent fell through because the date they wanted clashed with the final day of the ISSA/Grace Kennedy Boys and Girls' Championships, that concludes on March 24 at the National Stadium.

Ricketts said, “a particular team wanted to play us on the 24th. They had a game against the USA on the 27th but they could not play us later than the 24th, which is the final day of Champs and we thought it would not have been a good idea to compete with Champs on the last day of that event so we had to forego that game and signed with Antigua.”


1. Shaven Paul (Portmore United)
2. Damion Hyatt  (Arnett Gardens)
3. Amal Knight    (UWI FC)
4. Dennis Taylor  (Reno)
5. Ladale Richie (Montego Bay United)
6. Javain Brown (Harbour View)
7. Shawn Lawes  (Waterhouse)
8. Ricardo Thomas (Waterhouse)
9. Casseam Priestly (Harbour View)
10.Tevin Shaw (Tivoli Gardens)
11. Fabion McCarthy (UWI FC)
12. Kaheem Parris (Cavalier)
13. Alex Marshall (Cavalier)|
14. Chevone Marsh (Cavalier)
15. Ricardo Morris (Portmore United)
16. Maalique Foster (Portmore United)
17. Jamiel Hardware (Boys' Town)
18. Cordel Benbow (Waterhouse)
19. Fabian Reid (Arnett Gardens)
20. Marvin Morgan (Arnett Gardens)
21. Jovan East (Portmore United)

For the latest news, download our app at for Android; and at for IoS.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: