Saturday 8 August, 2020

West Indies 'A' slide to defeat in first One-Day match

Roston Chase.

Roston Chase.

Destructive bowling led by captain Roston Chase failed to inspire West Indies “A” and they fell to a 65-run defeat against India “A” in the opening match of the five-match One-Day series on Thursday.

Chase was the pick of the West Indies“A” bowlers, taking four for 19 from 6.5 overs with his uncomplicated off-spin, as India “A” were dismissed for 190 in 48.5 overs after they chose to bat at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua.

Fast-medium bowler Akeem Jordan supported Chase with three for 43 from 10 overs, but Shreyas Iyer hit eight fours and one six in a defiant 77 from 107 balls and Hanuma Vihari made 34 to prop up the Indians batting.

Chasing a victory target of 191, West Indies “A” were bowled out for  125 in 35.5 overs.

The Caribbean side started its chase disastrously, however, sliding to 30 for four in the 10th over before left-hander Jonathan Carter and fellow international Rovman Powell brought some respectability to the total with a stand of 65 for the fifth wicket.

Both Carter and Powell made 41, but there was little stability from the rest of the batting, as the home team lost their last six wickets for 30 in the space of 73 balls.

The series continues on Sunday with the second match taking place at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.



R. Gaikwad c Pierre b Jordan 3
S. Gill c Chase b Shepherd 10
S. Iyer run out 77
*M. Pandey b Jordan 4
H. Vihari b Cornwall 34
+I. Kishan c Chase b Jordan 16
A. Patel c Powell b Chase 17
W. Sundar not out 10
D. Chahar lbw b Chase 0
R. Chahar c Powell b Chase 8
K. Ahmed c Jordan b Chase 9
Extras (lb1, w1) 2
TOTAL (all out, 48.5 overs) 190
Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-18, 3-22, 4-117, 5-134, 6-153, 7-167, 8-167, 9-177
Bowling: Shepherd 7-1-13-1, Jordan 10-1-43-3, Powell 3-0-16-0, Reifer 6-1-30-0, Cornwall 10-0-41-1, Pierre 6-0-27-0, Chase 6.5-0-19-4


J. Campbell b Ahmed 4
S. Ambris lbw b D. Chahar 0
+S. Dowrich c wkpr Kishan b Ahmed 9
*R. Chase c wkpr Kishan b Ahmed 7
J. Carter not out 41
R. Powell c Vihari b R. Chahar 41
R. Reifer b Sundar 1
R. Cornwall c Ahmed b R. Chahar 0
R. Shepherd c Pandey b Sundar 1
K. Pierre c wkpr Kishan b Patel 1
A. Jordan lbw b Patel 0
Extras (lb1, w4, nb4) 9
TOTAL (all out 125, 35.5 overs) 125
Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-13, 3-18, 4-30, 5-95, 6-96, 7-97, 8-102, 9-125
Bowling: D. Chahar 5-0-23-1, Ahmed 8-1-6-3, R. Chahar 7-0-32-2, Patel 5.5-0-16-2, Sundar 10-1-37-2

Result: India “A” won by 65 runs
Series: India “A” lead five-match series 1-0
Player-of-the-Match: Shreyas Iyer (India “A”)
Toss: India “A”
Umpires: G. Brathwaite, N. Duguid

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: