Saturday 28 November, 2020

West Indies A outclassed once again as India A take ODI series

West Indies A failed to build on a tidy, half-century opening stand between John Campbell and Sunil Ambris and slumped to a 148-run defeat against India A in the third One-Day International of the five-match series on Tuesday in Antigua.

Captain Manish Pandey’s 100 off 87 balls and Krunal Pandya’s five-wicket haul led India A to the massive victory and an unassailable 3-0 series lead.

Batting first at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, India A scored 295 for six riding on  Pandey’s century and young Shubhman Gill’s breezy 77.

In reply, West Indies A were bundled out for a paltry 147 runs in 34.2 overs.

Ambris scored 30 and Campbell made 21, putting on 51, but the rest of the batting failed to fire, except all-rounder Keemo Paul, whose 34 was the top score.

None of the other home team batsmen reached 20, as Pandya ripped through the batting with a spell of five for 25 from seven overs.

Earlier, off-spinner Rahkeem Cornwall and Romario Shepherd grabbed two wickets apiece, but they and the rest of the West Indies A attack failed to make inroads into the India A batting, as the visitors’ captain Pandey hit a sparkling, even 100 and opener Shubman Gill supported with 77.

Shepherd grabbed the early scalp of Anmolpreet Singh for a fourth-ball duck, but Shreyas Iyer came to the crease and put on 109 for the second wicket with Gill.

Cornwall removed Gill and Iyer for 47 respectively, in the space of 11 deliveries to leave India A 137 for three, but Pandya shared 110 with Hanuma Vihari for the fourth wicket to consolidate their side’s advantage before the last six overs yielded 48.

The fourth match will be on Thursday at the Coolidge Cricket Ground, also in Antigua


INDIA A (maximum 50 overs)

S. Gill c wkpr Thomas b Cornwall 77
A. Singh c Campbell b Shepherd 0
S. Iyer c Powell b Cornwall 47
*M. Pandey lbw b Shepherd 100
H. Vihari c Ambris b Reifer 29
+I. Kishan b Paul 24
K. Pandya not out 2
W. Sundar not out 3
Extras (w12, nb1) 13
TOTAL (6 wkts, 50 overs) 295
D. Chahar, A. Khan, N. Saini did not bat
Fall of wickets: 1-13, 2-122, 3-137, 4-247, 5-286, 6-292
Bowling: Shepherd 10-1-51-2 (w3); Jordan 5-0-37-0; Paul 10-0-53-1 (nb1, w2); Reifer 9-0-62-1 (w2); Cornwall 10-0-37-2 (w2); Chase 3-0-32-0 (w3); Powell 3-0-23-0

WEST INDIES A (target: 296 off 50 overs)

J. Campbell c Iyer b Saini 21
S. Ambris lbw b Khan 30
R. Reifer c Gill b Pandya 19
*R. Chase b Pandya 15
J. Carter c Sundar b Pandya 4
+D. Thomas c Vihari b Sundar 1
R. Powell c Iyer b Pandya 1
R. Cornwall c wkpr Kishan b Vihari 5
R. Shepherd c Vihari b Pandya 4
K. Paul c Saini b Vihari 34
A. Jordan not out 0
Extras (b4, lb6, w3) 13
TOTAL (all out, 34.2 overs) 147
Fall of wickets: 1-51, 2-65, 3-89, 4-102, 5-103, 6-103, 7-109, 8-109, 9-117
Bowling: Chahar 5-0-15-0; Saini 5-0-33-1 (w1); Sundar 10-0-27-1; Khan 5-0-14-1 (w2); Pandya 7-0-25-0; 2.2-0-23-2
Result: India “A” won by 148 runs
Series: India “A” lead five-match series 3-0
Toss: India “A”
Player-of-the-Match: Manish Pandey (India “A”)
Umpires: N. Duguid, P. Gustard
Match referee: V. Burnes
Reserve umpire: G. Brathwaite

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: