Saturday 4 July, 2020

West Indies focused on playing patient cricket against India

On the eve of the first Test match against India, which starts in Rajkot on Thursday, the West Indies are focused on playing a patient game against the host and the number one-ranked Test team.

The West Indies arrived in India a week ago and has since played a two-day warm-up match against a BCCI XI, which ended in a draw. The team had solid batting performances from centurion Sunil Ambris, with half-centuries from vice-captain Kraigg Brathwaite and Shane Dowrich.  Devendra Bishoo also had a decent bowling spell, picking up three wickets.

West Indies captain Jason Holder complimented the patient style of play during the warm-up match, indicating that the team will remain focused and play a complete and patient game without looking at the names in the Indian team’s line-up.

Holder indicated that the team is ready for the challenge and that they all share the same mindset, of solid performances and playing good cricket.

Meanwhile, India have broken from their tradition of keeping their cards close to their chest by naming a 12-man shortlist on the eve of the Test.

The big news is that India have named an 18-year-old debutant, in Prithvi Shaw.

India are back to playing just the five specialist batsmen. The choice remains between a third spinner and a third fast bowler. If it is three fast bowlers, there could be two debuts on Thursday: Shardul Thakur is the third quick in the twelve.

INDIA: 1 KL Rahul, 2 Prithvi Shaw, 3 Cheteshwar Pujara, 4 Virat Kohli (capt.), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Rishabh Pant (wk), 7 R Ashwin, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Umesh Yadav, 10 Mohammed Shami, 11 Kuldeep Yadav/ Shardul Thakur

West Indies will be without Kemar Roach, who had to go back home because of a bereavement in the family and will not be back in time. Ambris has impressed with a rapid hundred in the warm-up game, and he might get a go in the middle order.

WEST INDIES (possible): 1 Kraigg Brathwaite, 2 Kieran Powell, 3 Shai Hope, 4 Sunil Ambris, 5 Shimron Hetmeyer, 6 Roston Chase, 7 Shane Dowrich (wk), 8 Jason Holder (capt), 9 Keemo Paul, 10 Devendra Bishoo, 11 Shannon Gabriel

India will host West Indies for two Tests, five ODIs and three T20Is starting October 4, 2018. The series will start just a week after the completion of the Asia Cup.

Here is the full schedule for West Indies tour of India series:

1st Test: 4-8 October in Rajkot
2nd Test: 12-16 October in Hyderabad

1st ODI: 21st October in Guwahati
2nd ODI: 24th October in Indore
3rd ODI: 27th October in Pune
4th ODI: 29th October in Mumbai
5th ODI: 1st November in Thiruvananthapuram

1st T20I: 4th November in Kolkata
2nd T20I: 6th November in Lucknow
3rd T20I: 11th November in Chennai

For the latest news, download our app at for Android; and at for IoS.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: