Thursday 2 April, 2020

Tallawahs' Glenn Phillips in 2019 CPL team of the tournament

Jamaica Tallawahs' batsman Glenn Phillips.

Jamaica Tallawahs' batsman Glenn Phillips.

The Jamaica Tallawahs have received only one vote on the 2019 Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) team of the tournament.

The sole representative from the Jamaica Tallawahs is Glenn Phillips, who has scored 374 runs at an average of 37.40 for the season.  He will also be the wicketkeeper for the team. Phillips was the leading light for the Tallawahs who had a very poor season, but the Kiwi wicketkeeper-batsman did brilliantly at the top of the order. 

The team of the tournament was announced by CPL on Saturday. The team has been selected by Tom Moody, Hero CPL’s Director – International Cricket, along with the commentary team – Mark Butcher, Danny Morrison, Dirk Nannes, Ian Bishop, and Daren Ganga. 

The team will be captained by Shoaib Malik (313 runs at 78.25) who successfully led the Guyana Amazon Warriors to a record 10 victories in the group stages to leave his team unbeaten in the tournament thus far. He is joined by fellow Amazon Warriors, Brandon King (453 runs at 56.62) and Imran Tahir (15 wickets at 11.53) who have both played an integral part in the Guyana franchise’s record-breaking tournament. 

The Trinbago Knight Riders have two players in the team, Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard. Simmons (429 runs at 42.90) was a late replacement in the Knight Riders squad but has done a superb job at the top of the order as his team made the playoffs once again. Pollard (349 runs at 58.16 and six wickets at 29.66) stepped up to the captaincy after Dwayne Bravo pulled out of the tournament through injury and has led from the front with both bat and ball. 

The Barbados Tridents have three players who make the team. Jason Holder (14 wickets at 23.07) and Harry Gurney (10 wickets at 16.3) both getting the nod.

Holder and Gurney have been superb with the new ball for the Tridents as their team finished second in the points table. The other member of the Tridents who is selected is Hayden Walsh Jr (21 wickets a 12.19) who has claimed five wickets in one innings and four in another as the USA spinner had a breakout season. 

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots have representation from Jamaican pair of Fabian Allen (218 runs at 27.25) and Sheldon Cottrell (12 wickets at 19.25). 

Allen has scored his runs at a remarkable strike rate of 177.23  and has also been one of the fielders of the tournament.

Cottrell has been saluting his way to success once again as he starred with the new ball and at the death for the Patriots. 

The Head Coach of the Year is Johan Botha who has taken Guyana Amazon Warriors into the CPL final with 11 straight wins. The 12th and 13th men are also from Amazon Warriors, with Chris Green (13 wickets at 20) and Chandrapaul Hemraj (298 runs at 27.09, 5 wickets at 17.2) making up the rest of the squad. 


1. Lendl Simmons – Trinbago Knight Riders
2. Brandon King  – Guyana Amazon Warriors
3. Glenn Phillips * (WK) – Jamaica Tallawahs
4. Shoaib Malik * (C) – Guyana Amazon Warriors
5. Fabian Allen – St Kitts & Nevis Patriots
6. Kieron Pollard – Trinbago Knight Riders
7. Jason Holder – Barbados Tridents
8. Hayden Walsh Jr – Barbados Tridents
9. Imran Tahir *– Guyana Amazon Warriors
10. Harry Gurney * – Barbados Tridents
11. Sheldon Cottrell – St Kitts & Nevis Patriots

12th man: Chris Green * – Guyana Amazon Warriors
13th man: Chandrapaul Hemraj – Guyana Amazon Warriors
Head Coach: Johan Botha – Guyana Amazon Warriors 

* Overseas player 

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: