Monday 27 January, 2020

Stafanie Taylor named captain of T20I Team of the Year

Stafanie Taylor.

Stafanie Taylor.

Jamaican Stafanie Taylor is among three West Indies players named in the inaugural International Cricket Council (ICC) Women's T20I team of the year.

Taylor, the world’s top-ranked T20I batter,  was given the nod as captain of the team, introduced as part of the ICC’s commitment to enhance the profile of women’s cricket and bring greater equity with the men’s game.

The other West Indies players named in the women's Twenty20 International team of the year are Deandra Dottin and Hayley Matthews.

The T20I side is made up of three Australians (Beth Mooney, Megan Schutt, Amanda-Jade Wellington), one from England (Danni Wyatt), two from India (Harmanpreet Kaur and Ekta Bisht), two from New Zealand (Sophie Devine and Lea Tahuhu) and the three West Indies players.

The ICC also announced a Women’s One Day International (ODI) team of the year.

England’s Heather Knight will captain the 50-over side.

The two sides were selected by the same panel, which had voted for the annual individual awards, and included Chloe Saltau, Mel Jones, Lisa Sthalekar (all Australia); Charlotte Edwards, Kalika Mehta, Alison Mitchell, Alan Wilkins (all England and Wales); Anjum Chopra, Snehal Pradhan (both India); Olivia Caldwell (New Zealand); Firdose Moonda, Natalie Germanos (both South Africa); Sa’adi Thawfeeq (Sri Lanka) and Ian Bishop, Fazeer Mohammad (Windies). 

The panel took into consideration player performances from 21 September 2016 to date.

Knight was named captain after she inspired her side to a stunning ICC Women’s World Cup victory in front of a packed Lord’s on July 23 in what was a game-changer for women’s cricket.

The ODI side comprises players from five countries, including two Australians (Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry), four England players (Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight, Sarah Taylor and Alex Hartley), two Indians (Mithali Raj and Ekta Bisht), one New Zealander (Amy Satterthwaite) and two South Africans (Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp).

India’s left-arm spinner Ekta Bisht is the only cricketer to feature in both the ODI and T20I teams of the year. The 31-year-old from Uttarakhand is ranked 14th in ODIs and 12th in T20Is, and took 34 wickets in 19 matches and 11 wickets in seven T20Is in the period under consideration.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

  1. Tammy Beaumont (England)
  2. Meg Lanning (Australia)
  3. Mithali Raj (India)
  4. Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand)
  5. Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  6. Heather Knight (captain) (England)
  7. Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper) (England)
  8. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)
  9. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)
  10. Ekta Bisht (India)
  11. Alex Hartley (England)

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (in batting order):

  1. Beth Mooney (wicketkeeper) (Australia)
  2. Danni Wyatt (England)
  3. Harmanpreet Kaur (India)
  4. Stafanie Taylor (captain) (Windies)
  5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
  6. Deandra Dottin (Windies)
  7. Hayley Matthews (Windies)
  8. Megan Schutt (Australia)
  9. Amanda-Jade Wellington (Australia)
  10. Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand)
  11. Ekta Bisht (India)

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: