Saturday 28 November, 2020

Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis return to West Indies' T20I squad

Jamaican fast bowler Sheldon Cottrell is back in West Indies' squad for the T20 International series against Bangladesh.

Two other players have also returned to the squad. They are Trinidadian opener  Evin Lewis and Vincentian fast bowler Kesrick Williams

Lewis hasn't played international cricket since pulling out of the limited-overs leg of West Indies' recent tour of India.

Allrounder Kieron Pollard and the left-arm quick Obed McCoy, who were part of the T20 International squad in India, miss out with injury.

Jamaican allrounder Andre Russell and offspinner Ashley Nurse of Barbados have not yet fully recovered from the shoulder and knee injuries that cut short their India tours.

Sylhet will host the first of three T20Is on December 17.

The team will be captained by Carlos Brathwaite, with interim ODI captain Rovman Powell as his deputy.

Cricket West Indies Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne said, "after Bangladesh won the T20 series in the West Indies, we will be expecting a highly competitive return series in Bangladesh."

WEST T20I SQUAD: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Fabian Allen, Kesrick Williams, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Shai Hope, Sherfane Rutherford, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas.

1st T20I – December 17 – Sylhet
2nd T20I – December 20 – Mirpur
3rd T20I – December 22 – Mirpur

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: