Sunday 8 December, 2019

Scorpions finish 4th; Jaguars officially crowned champions

Jamaica Scorpions could only manage fourth place in the 2017-2018 Digicel 4-Day Championships, which finished on Sunday as Guyana Jaguars were formally crowned champions for the fourth straight year.

The Scorpions ended with 93.6 points after winning only three of their 10 matches, while losing four including their final match against Barbados Pride which ended on Sunday at Kensington Oval. 

The Scorpions lost the match by 216 runs.

Needing a herculean effort to avoid defeat, Scorpions found no such resolve after being set exactly 350 for victory and were bowled out for 133 in their second innings about three quarters-of-an-hour into the final session.

The slim Keon Harding, playing in his fifth first-class match, led the Pride’s young pace quartet dutifully, grabbing a career-best 5-66 from 10.5 overs.

Lanky left-arm fast bowler Dominic Drakes, son of former West Indies all-rounder Vasbert Drakes, playing in his first match, due to injury to West Indies fast bowler Miguel Cummins, and former West Indies Under-19 all-rounder Justin Greaves completed the demolition with identical figures of 2-11 from four overs.

Earlier, Shayne Moseley, playing in his maiden first-class season, made an even, undefeated 100, as Pride declared about 25 minutes before lunch, after resuming a rain-marred day on 147 without loss.

Moseley, starting the day on 87, reached his landmark in an innings that spanned a shade over three hours, required 173 deliveries and included 11 fours and a six.

His senior partner and club-mate, West Indies opener Kraigg Brathwaite, added eight to his overnight 50, hitting six fours off 105 balls.

After rain prevented play in the first session, Pride declared 31 balls into the second session, leaving the visitors with just under two sessions to survive.

The result gave the hosts their third win of the season, ensuring they finished a campaign that started on shaky ground in the runners-up spot behind the Jaguars for the fourth straight season. Scorpions’ fourth defeat meant they fell to fourth in the final standings.

Final scores:- Barbados Pride 427 & 169-0; Jamaica Scorpions 247 & 133.

OVER AT THE GUYANA NATIONAL STADIUM: Guyana Jaguars were formally crowned champions for the fourth straight year on Sunday.

They ended the championship undefeated with 166.8 points, well ahead of second-place Barbados Pride (114.4).

On Sunday, Jaguars needed a mere 45 deliveries to complete an innings and 81 runs victory over Trinidad & Tobago Red Force, whose Jason Mohammed, the West Indies One-day batsman, signed off the season with his seventh first-class hundred on the final day of the 10th round match.

Jaguars captain Leon Johnson was beaming when he received the Headley/Weekes Trophy, symbol of West Indies first-class supremacy, from Cricket West Indies Director of Cricket and former West Indies captain Jimmy Adams.

Though Mohammed finished undefeated on 103, there was little joy for Red Force.

Mohammed faced 210 balls in nearly 4 ¼ hours at the crease, and counted 16 fours.

On 92 at the start, Mohammed received great support from Bryan Charles on the way to his landmark, as the pair put on 30 for the ninth wicket.

But Charles was bowled by left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul for 15 in the seventh over of the day and Anderson Phillip followed in the next over, lbw to Keemo Paul for 11.

Permaul ended with 3-73 from 29 overs and Paul finished with 3-118 from 19.5 overs to be the main destroyers in the Red Force second innings.

The wicket meant Permaul ended the season with 50 and Paul with 45.

The victory was the seventh for Jaguars and allowed them to finish the season unbeaten, but the defeat was the fourth on the trot for Red Force, leaving them to ponder what unfolded in a season they entered with great promise only to finish at the bottom of the table.

Final scores: Trinidad & Tobago Red Force 135 & 324;   Guyana Jaguars 540-9 dec.

OVER AT WARNER PARK IN ST KITTS: Devon Smith covered himself in personal glory, when he collected his 35th first-class hundred, claimed the single season scoring record to earn Windward Islands Volcanoes a draw with Leeward Islands Hurricanes.

Smith also shared a sensational, unbroken second-wicket stand with his captain Tyron Theophile, who notched a third first-class hundred as Volcanoes finished to 342 for one in their second innings after they resumed the day on 28-1.

Smith slammed a majestic, undefeated 151 – his 29th West Indies first-class hundred – and Theophile cracked a superb, unbeaten 160 – to erase any prospects of the Hurricanes claiming a season-ending victory.

The left-handed Smith, batting at three, started the match with 944 runs. His 5 ½-hour vigil which included 15 boundaries from 289 balls ensured not only that he became the fourth batsman to score 1,000 runs in a season.

He also eliminated the record of 1,068 held by former Jaguars and West Indies batsman Narsingh Deonarine for the most runs in a single West Indies first-class season.

His stand of 323 – unbroken – with Theophile also established a new record for the second wicket in the 152-year history of West Indies first-class competitions.

The result however, meant more to Hurricanes, as they finished third in the table, their highest finish after more than a decade of languishing near the bottom.

For Volcanoes, it was satisfactory conclusion to a season that started in uncertainty, due to the destruction that Hurricane Maria wrought on their training base in Dominica. After struggling to find their feet in the first half of the season, they recovered to play unbeaten through their last five games.

Final scores:-  Windward Islands Volcanoes 197 & 342-1; Leeward Islands Hurricanes(405-9 dec. 

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: