Thursday 28 May, 2020

RJRGleaner 'Man Of The Year' 2017 Awards to held February 13

The RJRGleaner Communications Group will host its annual ‘Man of the Year’ award ceremony on Tuesday, February 13, at the Jamaica Pegasus hotel.

Through the ceremony, RJRGleaner recognises and awards the initiative, accomplishment and courage of one individual or organisation that has contributed significantly by word or deed to improving Jamaica’s quality of life, at any time during the year or is likely to bring about such a change in the immediate future. 

This helps a panel of independent judges to select the person or organization for the RJRGleaner Honour Award ‘Man of the Year’ from several category awards in addition to Special Awards and Certificates of Merit. Dr Peter Phillips, in 2015, and Usain Bolt, in 2016, are past winners of the award.

While the three category luncheons have been concluded for the 13 winners for this year’s staging, the winners from the categories and their guests will await, with baited breath, the announcement of the Man/Recipient of the Year for 2017. This individual or group will be chosen from one of the winners of the categories:

Arts and Culture                                             National Library of Jamaica       

Arts and Culture (Special Award)                  Davina Bennett                      

Public Service                                                 Professor Gordon Shirley, O.J.

Sports  (Special Award)                                Omar McLeod

Sports                                                              Inter Secondary School Sports Association          

Education                                                         Hon. Senator Dr. Floyd Morris

Science and Technology                                 Electricity Sector Enterprise Team    

Health & Wellness                                          Jamaica Moves Campaign

Entertainment                                                 Jamar “Chronixx” McNaughton

Entertainment (Lifetime Achievement Award) Hon. Hugh Beresford Hammond O.J.

Voluntary Service                                           Boys’ Town  Intervention programme

Voluntary Service (Special Award)                RISE Life Management

Business                                                          Patrick Hylton

Business (Special Award)                               Gloria Henry 

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: