Thursday 2 April, 2020

Six former labour ministers honoured

Six former ministers of labour have been recognised by the Government for their contribution to the achievements and activities associated with the International Labour Organization (ILO) and the Trade Union Act, which were established 100 years ago.

They are former Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller, Dean Peart, Horace Dalley, Pearnel Charles, Derrick Kellier, and Dr Fenton Ferguson.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness presented them with plaques during the Ministry of Labour and Social Security's awards banquet in Celebration of the centenary of the ILO and the Trade Union Act (1919), which was held at Jamaica Pegasus hotel in New Kingston on Wednesday.

Shahine Robinson, the labour and social security minister, congratulated the recipients on behalf of the Government.

Several trade unionists and employee advocates were also awarded. They are Senator Lambert Brown, Brenda Cuthbert, Helene Davis-Whyte, Raymond Eytle, George Fyffe, Senator Kavan Gayle, Vincent Morrison, Danny Roberts, Granville Valentine, Lloyd Goodleigh (posthumously), and Professor Neville Ying.

Former permanent secretaries Anthony Irons and Alvin McIntosh were also recognised; so too was former labour administrators Errol Miller, Karl Wedderburn; and Gresford Smith (posthumously).

The Trade Union Act was born out of the need to provide a legislative framework for industrial dispute resolution and statutory arbitration.

The Act, which was the first of its kind in the English-speaking Caribbean, supports the principle of collective bargaining and provides legal recognition for the trade union movement.

Photos: Ministry of Labour and Social Security's awards banquet

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: