Monday 28 September, 2020

Jerome Taylor back in WI team for series against Afghanistan

Jerome Taylor.

Jerome Taylor.

Jamaican fast bowler Jerome Taylor has been recalled to the West Indies squad for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 Series against Afghanistan, starting on June 2 at Warner Park in St. Kitts.

His last match in any format for West Indies came in a T20 International against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi last September when he took 0 for 19 in an eight-wicket loss.

Three other Jamaicans are also named in the 13-man squad. They are all-rounder Rovman Powell, batsman Marlon Samuels and wicketkeeper/batsman Chadwick Walton.

The squad includes one uncapped player, Ronsford Beaton, the tall 24-year-old fast bowler. He has so far played 36 T20 matches, with 31 wickets including best figures of 4-9.

All-rounder Jason Holder is being rested for the series.

The Panel also announced the 12-man squad for the WICB President’s XI T20 match against the visitors.

All matches will be played at Warner Park in St Kitts. Start time is 7:30pm (6:30pm Jamaica Time).

On the composition of the squad, Courtney Brown, the Chairman of the Selection Panel said,  "after the T20 Series against Pakistan we felt that it was important to keep the same group together so that the coaches can continue developing the young players. This coupled with the vast T20 experience of some of our senior players can help us to build a very formidable unit."

On the inclusion of fast bowler, Ronsford Beaton, Brown said,  "our Head Coach, Stuart Law, has asked for someone who can add some firepower to the attack. We felt that Ronsford has shown he can bowl with sustained pace in T20 cricket. We are confident he will do very well."

On all-rounder, Jason Holder, being rested, Brown said, "Jason has been going for a while now and led the team from the front with his performances. He has requested a break and after discussion with the staff we have granted him this period to refresh himself and prepare for the upcoming ODIs against Afghanistan and India."



Carlos Brathwaite (Captain)
Samuel Badree
Ronsford Beaton
Evin Lewis
Jason Mohammed
Sunil Narine
Kieron Pollard
Rovman Powell
Marlon Samuels
Lendl Simmons
Jerome Taylor
Chadwick Walton
Kesrick Williams


Ashley Nurse (Captain)
Jonathan Carter
Johnson Charles
Sheldon Cottrell
Miguel Cummins
Andre Fletcher
Delorn Johnson
Kyle Mayers
Veerasammy Permaul
Nicholas Pooran
Raymond Reifer
Devon Thomas


Tuesday, May 30: WICB President’s XI v Afghanistan – Warner Park
Friday, June 2: 1st T20 International – Warner Park
Saturday, June 3: 2nd T20 International – Warner Park
Monday, June 5: 3rd T20 International – Warner Park

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: