Wednesday 23 September, 2020

Jamaica's All School Squad off to Youth Classic Soccer Tournament

Four players each from Kingston College (KC) and Clarendon College have been drafted into Jamaica’s 21-member football All School Squad, which will compete at the 2018 Caribbean Americas Soccer Association (CASA)/ Lauderdale Youth Classic Soccer Tournament in Florida.

The squad departed the country earlier today.

Among the four players from KC is midfielder Nathan Thomas, whose goal at the death led his team to a 3-2 victory over St George’s College in the final of the ISSA/Digicel Manning Cup on November 30.

Thomas received a ball well outside of the 18-yard-box, a minute into time added on and unleashed a thunderous shot. The shot clipped the head of St George's College defender Nathaniel Campbell and lodged into the back of the net to give KC the urban area biggest schoolboy football prize for the first time in 32 years.

The other KC players in the squad are defender Tremain Simpson, midfielder Caseam Priestly and striker Trayvone Reid, who was also on the score sheet in the Manning Cup final.

The Clarendon College players who made the squad are defender Taja Brown, midfielders Lamar Walker and Duran Panton along with striker Nicque Daley.

Clarendon College are the daCosta Cup and all-island Olivier Shield champions.

Cornwall College, which won the rebranded Champions Cup Knockout, gained three selections in goalkeeper Peter Sinclair, striker Jokomba Aiden and midfielder Shavon McDonald.

Six teams will compete at the Youth Classic Soccer Tournament, which runs from December 12-16.

Jamaica will compete in Group A alongside Plantation and Miramar United. Group B comprises Tobago Select, CASA Under-20 and Fut Soc Under-20.

Jamaica open their campaign against Miramar United on Friday at 8:30 pm.

Jamaica’s All Schools Squad:

Jeadine White (STATHS)                
Peter Sinclair (Cornwall College)                                  

Jordan Petrekin (St. George’s College)                         
Nathan Hunter (JC)      
Emelio Rousseau (St. George’s College)   
Taja Brown (Clarendon College)     
Antonio Biggs (STETHS)      
Tremain Simpson (KC)          
Akeem Mullings   (Dinthill Technical)                 

Norman Campbell (JC)
Lamar Walker (Clarendon College)           
Shavon McDonald (Cornwall College)                          
Nathan Thomas (KC)   
Duran Panton (Clarendon College)  
Casseam Priestly (KC)           

Nicque Daley (Clarendon College)             
Jokomba Aiden (Cornwall College)           
Ronaldo Webster (STETHS)
Renaldo Cephas (Charlie Smith)                         
Phillon Lawrence (Holy Trinity High)                                    
Trayvone Reid (KC)     

Lenworth Hyde
Ludlow Bernard
Phillip Williams



Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: