Tuesday 20 October, 2020

Holness names three newcomers among 13 Gov’t members for the Senate

Prime Minister Andrew Holness has announced the full slate of 13 Government Senators who are to be sworn in on Tuesday.

They include three newcomers in Leslie Campbell, Natalie Campbell-Rodriques and Sherene Golding-Campbell.

Leslie Campbell previously served in the Lower House. He was the Member of Parliament (MP) for North East St Catherine until six weeks before the September 3 General Elections when he announced his decision not to seek re-election.

Despite being parachuted into the constituency on the eve of the elections, Kerensia Morrison retained the seat for the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) by trouncing the People’s National Party’s (PNP) Oswest Senior-Smith, a prominent attorney-at-law.

The three JLP newcomers to the Senate are to replace Morrison, Robert Morgan and Tova Hamilton. Like Morrison, both Morgan and Hamilton also won seats in the general elections, and are to be serving in the House of Representatives.  Morgan is the Member of Parliament-elect for North Central Clarendon, him having turned back the challenge of Dr Desmond Brennan in tha6 seat, while Hamilton defeated Victor Wright for the Northern Trelawny seat, breaking the PNP stranglehold on the constituency.

Below is the full slate of Government senators:

Kamina Johnson Smith

Matthew Samuda

Aubyn Hill

Leslie Campbell

Tom Tavares Finson

Kavan Gayle

Ransford Braham

Charles Sinclair

Don Wehby

Delroy Williams

Dr Saphire Longmore

Natalie Campbell-Rodriques

Sherene Golding-Campbell

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: