Monday 20 May, 2019

Grange announces new sports agency boards

Sport Minister Olivia Grange.

Sport Minister Olivia Grange.

Sport Minister Olivia Grange has appointed new boards for three important sporting bodies – Independence Park Limited, Institute of Sports Limited and Sports Development Foundation.

 The appointments which took effect on November 12, are for a period of two years.

 The board appointees are as follows:

 Independence Park Limited:  The new board is chaired by Mike Fennell, with the vice chairman being David Shirley.

The other members are:
Annmarie Heron
Major Desmon Brown
Assistant Commissioner of Police Terrence Bent
Lieutenant Colonel Roderick Rowe
Lenford Salmon
Carlton Dennis
Edward Barnes
Dr Peter Charles|
Audrey Chin

 Institute of Sports

The new board is chaired by Newton Amos.  Assistant Commissioner of Police Ronald Anderson is Deputy Chairman.  

The other members are
Gladstone Wright
Emile Spence
Viswanaught Tolan

Florette Blackwood

Ryan Foster

Daphne Hurge

Dr Michelle Holt

Dr Lee Martin

Marvalyn Campbell

Allan Beckford

Renardo Smith 

Sports Development Foundation

The new Board is chaired by George Soutar.  Lloyd Pommells is Deputy Chairman.  

The other members are
David Shirley
Ian Forbes
Molly Rhone

Dr Donovan Bennett

Christopher Stokes

Annmarie Heron

Newton Amos

Compton Rodney

Minister Grange said she is confident that the new boards will advance the government’s mandate to develop sport from the grassroots to the high performance level.

For the latest news, download our app at for Android; and at for IoS.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: