Thursday 9 July, 2020

Fraser-Pryce shortlisted for Laureus Sportswoman of the Year award

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce wins the women's 100m at the 2019 edition of the IAAF World Championships in Doha, Qatar in September.

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce wins the women's 100m at the 2019 edition of the IAAF World Championships in Doha, Qatar in September.

Olympian Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is among six heavily-decorated sportswomen who have been shortlisted for the prestigious Sportswoman of the Year prize at the Laureus Awards.

The others are record-breaking gymnast Simone Biles, Australian Open champion Naomi Osaka, World Cup-winning football star Megan Rapinoe, skier Mikaela Shiffrin and fellow sprinter, Allyson Felix.

Fraser-Pryce, the Jamaican Olympian had an outstanding 2019 season which she capped by becoming the first athlete, male or female, to win four 100 metre World Championship titles. She did so when she flattened a quality field to win the blue riband event in the 2019 edition of the championships in Doha, Qatar in September.

She did so just two years after giving birth to her son Zyon.

Fraser-Pryce was voted International Female Athlete for 2019 by readers of the Athletics Weekly Magazine, which is published in the United Kingdom.

The publication stated that "Fraser-Pryce was voted top in a year, which saw her win the world 100m title in a very fast world-leading 10.71 to just miss her seven-year-old PB. She also won gold in the 4x100m relay and ran 22.22 for 200m."

She was also crowned the Best Female Athlete at the inaugural Panam Sports Awards last month.

The 32-year-old was rewarded for her performance at the 2019 Pan American Games in Lima at a ceremony in Fort Lauderdale, United States.

Fraser-Pryce produced one of the highlights of the fourth day of track and field in Lima on August 9 by adding the Pan American Games 200m title to her illustrious collection with a 22.43 (-0.1 m/s) performance to break the previous games record of 22.45 set by USA’s Evelyn Ashford in 1979. 

The holder of multiple Olympic and World Championship titles also made the shortlist for Female World Athlete of the Year but finished out of the top three. That award went to U.S. hurdler Dalilah Muhammad who won World Championship gold in the 400-metre hurdles in world-record time.

The winner of the Sportswoman of the Year prize at the Laureus Awards will be announced in Berlin on February 17.

Rapinoe's US football team has also been nominated for Team of the Year after retaining its world title in the summer.

Teenage tennis sensation Coco Gauff has been put forward for Breakthrough of the Year after she reached the third round at Wimbledon at the age of just 15.

Canadian tennis star Bianca Andreescu joins Gauff in the same category after winning the US Open.

Motor racing driver Sophia Florsch is up for Comeback of the Year, while five of the six nominees for Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability are women - Omara Durand, Diede de Groot, Oksana Masters, Manuela Schar and Alice Tai.

And Action Sportsperson of the Year features snowboarder Chloe Kim, skateboarder Rayssa Leal and surfer Carissa Moore.

The winners will be decided by the 68 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy and announced in Berlin on February 17.

Sportswoman of the Year nominees: Simone Biles (USA) - gymnastics, Allyson Felix (USA) - athletics, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) - athletics, Naomi Osaka (Japan) - tennis, Megan Rapinoe (USA) - football, Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) – skiing.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: