Sunday 8 December, 2019

Ex-Man United starlet Ravel Morrison in Jamaica's Gold Cup squad

Former England youth international Ravel Morrison.

Former England youth international Ravel Morrison.

Former England youth international Ravel Morrison has been named in Jamaica's preliminary 40-man squad for the 2019 Gold Cup from June 15 to July 7.

The 26-year-old midfielder, who qualifies to play for Jamaica through his mother, was strongly touted as a future star for the Three Lions, but the former West Manchester United and Ham United player has failed to live up the confidence placed in him. He and is currently playing for Ostersunds in Sweden.

Morrison's career has been hampered by various off-field problems and he made just three first-team appearances for Manchester United and 24 in four years with West Ham, where he had loans with Birmingham, Queens Park Rangers, and Cardiff.

Lazio signed Morrison to a four-year contract in 2015 but loaned him to Queens Park Rangers during the 2016-17 season and then Mexican side Atlas in 2017-18, where he scored four goals in 25 games.

He recently received a Jamaican passport.

As expected, Jamaica head coach Theodore Whitmore called in Leon Bailey of Bayer Leverkusen after the 21-year-old winger Leon Bailey has over the years rejected offers to play for his country.

The Reggae Boyz are in Group C of the Gold Cup alongside El Salvador, Honduras, and Curacao. They will kick off their campaign against Honduras in Kingston on June 17.

The biennial international championship of the North, Central American, and Caribbean region organized by Concacaf will primarily be hosted in the United States, with Costa Rica and Jamaica also hosting doubleheaders in the first round of matches in groups B and C, respectively.

Preliminary 40-man squad: Leon Bailey, Kemar Bennett, Andre Blake, Javain Brown, Rennico Clarke, Rashawn Dally, Javon East, Junior Flemmings, Maalique Foster, Shaun Francis, Owayne Gordon, Michael Hector, Kevaughn Isaacs, Daniel Johnson, Amal Knight, Kevon Lambert, Kemar Lawrence, Andre Lewis, Damion Lowe, Adrian Mariappa, Alex Marshall, Darren Mattocks, Fabion McCarthy, Dwayne Miller, Ricardo Morris, Ravel Morrison, Shamar Nicholson, Dever Orgill, Keheem Parris, Alvas Powell, Ladale Richie, Jordan Scarlett, Tevin Shaw, Ajeanie Talbott, Jamoi Topey, Peter Vassell, Je-Vaughn Watson, Jeadine White, Devon Williams, Romario Williams.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: