Thursday 9 July, 2020

Ex-Man United player Ravel Morrison not in Reggae Boyz Gold Cup squad

Ravel Morrison

Ravel Morrison

Former England youth international Ravel Morrison was surprisingly left out of Jamaica's 23-member squad for the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup from June 15 to July 7.

The 26-year-old midfielder was named in a preliminary 40-man squad last month after getting his Jamaican passport.

Morrison who qualifies to play for Jamaica through his mother was strongly touted as a future star for the Three Lions, but the former West Manchester United and Ham United player has failed to live up the confidence placed in him. He is currently playing for Ostersunds in Sweden.

As expected, Leon Bailey of Bayer Leverkusen is in the final 23-member squad. The 21-year-old winger has over the years rejected offers to play for his country, but had accepted the offer for the friendly international against the USA earlier this week. However, he did not make his debut in the match, which the Reggae Boyz won 1-0 in Washington.

The squad includes only four local-based players in midfielders Andre Lewis, Ricardo Morris and Tyreek Magee and goalkeeper Amal Knight.

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz have been drawn in Group C of the Gold Cup with Honduras, El Salvador and Curacao.

The Concacaf Gold Cup will be played in the Caribbean for the first time as a group-stage doubleheader takes place on June 17 in Jamaica at the National Stadium, the day when the Reggae Boyz will open their campaign.

The opening match at the National Stadium on June 17 will feature a clash between Curacao and El Salvador at 6:00 pm while Jamaica will go up against Honduras in an 8:00 pm encounter.

Jamaica's Reggae Boyz have played in the final twice. In 2015, the Reggae Boyz lost 3-1 against Mexico, while in 2017 they were beaten 2-1 by the United States.

Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union, USA)
Jamoi Topey (Bethlehem Steel FC, USA)
Michael Hector (Sheffield Wednesday, England)
Andre Lewis (Portmore United, Jamaica)
Alvas Powell (FC Cinncinati, USA)
Dever Orgill (MKE Ankaragucu SK, Turkey)
Leon Bailey (Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Germany)
Maalique Foster (Rio Grande Valley FC, USA)
Ricardo Morris (Portmore United, Jamaica)
Darren Mattocks (FC Cinncinati, USA)
Shamar Nicholson (NK Domzale Slovenia)
Junior Flemmings (Phoenix Rising FC, USA)
Dwayne Miller (Syrianska FC, Sweden)
Shaun Francis (Louisville FC, USA)
Je-Vaughn Watson (OKC Energy, USA)
Peter Vassell (LA FCm USA)
Damion Lowe (IK Start, Norway)
Brian Brown (Reno 1868 FC, USA)
Tyreek Magee (Harbour View FC, Jamaica)
Kemar Lawrence (NY Red Bulls, USA)
Kevon Lambert (Phoenix Rising FC, USA)
Devon Williams (Louisville FC, USA)
Amal Knight (University of the West Indies, Jamaica)


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: