Tuesday 14 July, 2020

Earl Jarrett appointed Chairman of Electoral Commission of Jamaica

Earl Jarrett

Earl Jarrett

Chief Executive Officer of Jamaica National Group, Earl Jarrett, is the new Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ).

The appointment took effect on March 1.

Jarrett was elected from among the four selected commissioners on the electoral body.

He was appointed to the electoral commission as a selected commissioner in 2013 under the chairmanship of Dorothy Pine-McLarty, who retired on December 31, 2019.

McLarty was replaced as a commissioner by retired Chief Justice, Zaila McCalla, who was appointed as a selected commissioner to the ECJ on January 1.

The ECJ is comprised of four selected commissioners, four nominated commissioners and the director of elections. Two of the nominated commissioners are appointed on the advice of the prime minister and two on the advice of the leader of the Opposition.

The chairman is selected after the four selected commissioners meet among themselves and elect the person they determine should chair the ECJ as set out in the Electoral Commission (Interim) Act 2006.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: