Thursday 5 December, 2019

Clarendon College beat Dinthill 4-1 to win Ben Francis KO title

Clarendon College secured their first Ben Francis Cup title in 19 years by defeating Dinthill Technical 4-1 in extra-time in the 2017 rural-area final at St Elizabeth Technical Sports Complex, on Wednesday.

The teams battled to a 1-1 draw at the end of full time, but Clarendon College took control in extra-time by pumping in three answered goals to protect their perfect win records this season.

Shamari Davis handed Dinthill a 1-0 lead going into the half-time break, but Clarendon College pulled level at 1-1 in the 58th minute.

Then in extra-time, Clarendon College went ahead for the first time through Demario Phillips in the 95th minute before pulling away for the a comfortable victory in the end.

It was the fourth Ben Francis Cup title for Clarendon College, which had won the competition in 1989, 1990 and 1998.

The victory came a day after Jamaica College edged Kingston College 2-1 at the National Stadium to win the corporate area Walker Cup knockout title.





Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: