Tuesday 27 October, 2020

Caribbean country removed from UK travel corridor exemption list

The United Kingdom has updated its travel corridor exemption list and one Caribbean country has been removed while a new one was added.  

The Bahamas which is already contending with daily increases in its number of COVID-19 cases, was removed from the UK’s travel corridor exemption list on August 8 at 4 am. 

According to the exemption rules, a person will need to self-isolate if they visited or made a transit stop in a country or territory that is not on the list in the 14 days before they arrive in England. 

The period for self-isolation is 10 days when a person gets back to England.  

Meanwhile, St Vincent and the Grenadines was added to the UK travel corridor exemption list on July 28.  

This means a person may not need to self-isolate if they arrived in England from SVG after July 28.  

Here is the updated list of Caribbean countries and territories with no self-isolation requirement on arrival in England:   

  • Anguilla 

  • Antigua and Barbuda 

  • Aruba 

  • Barbados 

  • Bermuda 

  • Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba 

  • British Virgin Islands 

  • Cayman Islands  

  • Curacao 

  • Dominica 

  • Grenada 

  • Guadeloupe 

  • Jamaica 

  • Montserrat 

  • St Barthelemy 

  • St Kitts and Nevis 

  • St Lucia  

  • St Vincent and the Grenadines (if you arrived in England before July 28 you will need to self-isolate) 

  • Trinidad and Tobago 

  • Turks and Caicos Islands 

The UK Department for Transport updated the list on August 7.  

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: