Friday 18 September, 2020

Blackwood, Lewis join Tallawahs squad following COVID-19 withdrawals

Jermaine Blackwood  in action for West Indies in the recent three-match Test series in England.

Jermaine Blackwood in action for West Indies in the recent three-match Test series in England.

West Indies batsman Jermaine Blackwood and allrounder Ramaal Lewis have been called up as late replacements for  Andre McCarthy and Jeavor Royal in Jamaica Tallawahs squad for the 2020 season of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

Blackwood was West Indies' leading run-scorer on their Test tour to England, while Lewis, who captained the West Indies team to the Youth World Cup in 2014, played seven games for the Tallawahs during their disappointing season last year.

McCarthy and Royal were not among theTallawahs touring party to Trinidad and Tobago on Monday after they both came into close contact with another player who had tested positive for COVID-19.

Tallawahs CEO Jeff Miller said  "to lose both players… it is a big blow, but at the end of the day, the safety of the players comes first."

The Tallawahs also had a withdrawal in July as left-arm spinner Tabraiz Shamsi of South Africa was unable to secure a travel visa to get to Trinidad and Tobago in time for August 1 to go into quarantine ahead of the tournament. Australian allrounder Antum Naqvi was named as a replacement for Shamsi.

The full 2020 CPL season will take place in Trinidad and Tobago from August 18 to September 10, after the organisers got the final nod from the local government. A total of 33 matches including two semi-finals and a final will be played behind closed doors across two stadiums.

All the participants - squads and team management of the six franchises -   will need to self-isolate for two weeks before they board their flights, and for two weeks upon arrival in Trinidad and Tobago.

All the overseas participants will be tested for COVID-19 before departure and then upon arrival followed by two more tests - seven days and 14 days after their arrival.

All six teams will stay in the same hotel in Trinidad.

The Tallawahs will open their schedule on August 19 when they tackle St Lucia Zouks at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy.


Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: