Tuesday 7 July, 2020

12 charged for breaching Disaster Risk Management Act in Portmore

File photo

File photo

Twelve persons were charged for breaches of the Disaster Risk Management Act in Portmore, St Catherine on Sunday.

Reports are that the police were on patrol in the Naggo Head and Southborough communities in Portmore sometime after 8 pm on Sunday when the alleged breaches were detected, leading to the arrests.

As announced by the Government, the nightly island-wide curfew has been tightened for the Labour Day holiday period.

Prime Minister Andrew Holness made the announcement recently during an update to the nation on the COVID-19 pandemic, stating that the nightly curfew which currently runs from 8pm to 5am would be adjusted for Sunday, May 24 and on Labour Day, Monday May 25.

The persons arrested and charged on Sunday are:

1.           Jason Carter, 30, of Southborough

2.           Suwayne Blair, 27, of Southborough

3.           Jamall Thomas, 33, of Southborough

4.           Shavon Bennett, 20, of Southborough

5.           Dennis Forbes, 54, of Southborough

6.           Kamal Gayle, 19, of Southborough

7.           Shemar Thomas, 21, of Southborough

8.           Jason Thomas, 40, of Southborough

9.           Damion Scott, 33, of Naggo Head

10.         Adrian McCollin, 57, of Naggo Head

11.         Steven McCollin, 32, of Naggo Head

12.         Stanford Dyer, 63, of Naggo Head

On Sunday the curfew ran from 3pm to 8am on Monday May 25.

And on Labour Day, Monday, May 25, the hours of the curfew will run from 3pm to 5am on Tuesday, May 26.

Thereafter, the nightly curfew will run from 9pm to 5am from May 26 through to May 31

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: